Elmore County

Elmore County was established on February 15, 1866, from portions of Autauga, Coosa, Tallapoosa, and Montgomery counties. The county has a total area of 657 square miles of which 618 square miles is land and 39 square miles is water. The county was named for John Archer Elmore who was a military officer and politician. The area around Wetumpka was the heart of the Upper Creek lands, whose largest towns were located on the banks of the Coosa and at its confluence with the Tallapoosa River, at Wetumpka and Talisi (now Tallassee), respectively.importantnumberselmoregaspowerwaterelmoresheriffschool


Art Walk Wetumpka is hosted by the Village Artist and is held the first Friday of each month in Downtown Wetumpka, Alabama. Especially chosen artists and musicians line the streets of Wetumpka showcasing their work and providing art to purchase.


Join us for our weekly Farmer’s Market, held every Thursday through August 26th, at the Wetumpka Farmer’s Market.