Autauga County was established on November 21, 1818, by an act of Alabama Territorial Legislature (one year before Alabama was admitted as a State). As established, the county included present-day Autauga County, as well as Elmore County and Chilton County. At the time, Autauga (aka, Tawasa) Indians lived here, primarily in a village named Atagi (meaning “pure water”) situated on the banks of a creek by the same name (called “Pearl Water Creek” by settlers). Autauga County has a population of 54,571 and the county seat is Prattville. Other towns in Autauga County include Autaugaville, Billingsley, Marbury Pine Level. Autauga County even has one ghost town called Washington which is located on the north bank of the Alabama River, just west of the mouth of Autauga Creek.


Prattville Community Choir Dinner Concert

    Join the City of Prattville and the Community Choir for the Spring Dinner Concert, on April 20, 2017 at 6:00 p.m. and April 21, 2017 at 8:00 p.m. at the Doster Center. Seating is limited so get your reservation early. Cost is $25.00 per person. For more information call (334) 595-0854.

The 12th Annual Fountain City Arts Festival

    The 12th Annual Fountain City Arts Festival will be held on Saturday, April 1, from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. at Pratt Park in Downtown Prattville, Alabama. This fine arts festival features an Artists Village with a variety of hand crafted and custom designed items from fine art paintings, to woodcarvings, photography, clay sculpture, handmade soap, and much more. A Writers Village will feature local and regional writers with books for children, books for adults, books of photography, and everything in between. A Traditional Crafts area will feature demonstrations of basket weaving, gemstone polishing, fiber arts, and more.For more information contact the Special Events office at (334) 595-0854.